Skip to main content

TIFU by celebrating my coworker’s divorce like a touchdown

This memory comes back to haunt me every once in a while, so I thought maybe someone else would find joy in it.

Last Christmas, I (22F at that time) attended the holiday party of the company I work for, which was at a local bar. I had been with for a year at that time, and I was doing my best to talk to my coworkers and form some friendships. Because of my role, I tend to only really talk to a handful of people in the company, and I struggle talking to new people because I’m not a bubbly or outgoing person. I don’t have social anxiety, I just prefer observing; I’ve always been described as quiet. But I’ve been trying to expand my circle of friends.

I ended up standing in a group with the one girl at my work that I do have some sort of a significant friendship with and some people I’ve visually deemed as ‘cool’ but never actually talked to. I was enjoying listening and nodding along to the conversation, and I heard this really cool woman (probably mid 30’s with a lot of awesome tattoos) say to the group that she divorced her husband and she’s now a very happy lesbian step-mom. She said it in a way that she was proud of it, like in a “fuck my ex” type of tone.

Now let me slow this down and explain my thought process for my response: I wanted to show this lady that I thought that leaving her husband to live her truth was awesome and that I support the LGBTQ+ community, because I work in a very ‘yee-haw’ business and community.

The execution, I fear, did not go so well.

Instead of anything such as “oh wow that’s awesome, I love that for you,” or “That’s amazing, I’m glad you chose your happiness,” I just yelled, “HELL YEA!!” and kind of pumped my fist in the air?? No one responded. No one laughed, or anything. They just continued on without missing a beat.

Now I know the response could’ve been SOOO much worse. I mean, the whole bar could’ve gone quiet, she could’ve gotten upset, etc., but it still makes me cringe to remember. This is why I don’t go out. I think the correct response would’ve probably just been smiling?? Even the above examples seem a little weird, but I don’t know. I tend to second guess every interaction I have anyway. Sorry coworker, I still think you’re awesome.

TL;DR: I got too excited to express that I support my gay coworker (who i’d never spoken to before) and yelled “HELL YEA” when she mentioned that she divorced her husband for a woman and no one reacted.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

TIFU almost so bad by not unlogging from this Reddit account

I use this Reddit account to mod r/hearhimfuck , watch my porn and answer NSFWAMA when I feel like it. I religiously log off completely after every time because I don't want my partner or anyone knowing about this account. It's the holidays and we are all busy so I had a quick session with myself and ran to get a shower and leave for another family Christmas dinner. My phone stayed in my purse the whole evening. By the end there's 6 of us left and we're sitting in the living room, having mellow conversation. Pets are discussed and photos shown. Someone asks about my dogs so I go fetch my phone and sit back on the couch. As soon as I unlock it, there's a full blown ANAL clip playing. Fortunately, the sound was off. I manage to turn the sound all the way down and shut the app without anyone seeing. TLDR; Iwas THIS close from having hardcore porn blasting surrounded by my parents, my partner, an aunt and a two cousins. I can't imagine the aftermath of what could...

TIFU by jackin' it in the shower

Out of town at a hotel for a conference, high speed Internet and mobile phone in hand, step into the dry shower at the end of a long day at work downstairs. Using the provided lube (conditioner), my work was done in short order. I then turned on the shower to warm up and went back into the main room to put down my phone. Here's the fuck up- we all know, or should, that the best way to clean a protein-rich, goopy substance, does not involve hot water. In fact, hot water just leaves the slippery proteins while washing away the water soluble parts. Forgetting this, I boldly stride into the glass-walled shower only to nearly break my damn legs and neck as I slid in from one side to the other on what felt like warm ice, barely catching myself on the shower grip handles. Now my foot hurts. TL;DR: masturbated in shower and slipped on my own hot load, nearly hurting myself very badly.

TIFU by getting suspended for 2 days by my front office in school.

I (13M) am an African American student at Jeannette junior high who had got suspended for 2 days here. I was in math class minding my business until my teacher had told me to go to the main office, which posed no problem to me. As i went down there, the people of the front office had stopped me and made me get a new ID (yes, we have id's.) so i had asked them if i could maybe do a different alternative and call my mother to let her bring the Id here, even then, the Id isn't that important. So, although i was talking to them in a calm manner and not showing any signs of rebellion, they had threatened to call the police on me without thinking twice before calling my parents. This is where i started getting angry, and even then now the black peers agree that could have been a racially motivated action. They then told me to sit in the office conference room because of that, leading into more anger. They had then called my mother who had came over to the school didn't even let ...